New Harare councillors sworn in

13 Feb, 2024 - 10:02 0 Views
New Harare councillors sworn in Councillor Rufaro Matsika


Diana Nherera Suburban Reporter

Four new Harare councillors elected in last weekend’s council by-elections were sworn into office on Monday at a ceremony held at Town House.

The four were two councillors from the ruling Zanu PF and two independent councillors who won the elections in Wards 5, 16, 18 and 41.

Councillors Abdurrahman Sapa (Ward 5) and Rufaro Matsika (Ward 18) were both duly elected following the nullification of the nomination of recalled opposition CCC councillors Mr Samuel Gwezi (Ward 5) and Mr Ian Makone (Ward 18) following a High Court application by the party’s interim secretary general Mr Sengezo Tshabangu to bar the former councillors from seeking re-election under the faction-torn CCC banner.

Councillor Kudzai Kadzombe

Former CCC councillors Mr Denford Ngadziore (Ward 16) and Mrs Kudzai Kadzombe (Ward 41) retained their seats after contesting as independents following their recalls by the CCC in November last year.

After an election, a councillor or Member of Parliament must take the oath of office before commencing their duties.

Councillor Denford Ngadziore

Town clerk Engineer Hosiah Chisango with the assistance of other senior council officials presided over Monday’s swearing in ceremony, which lasted about 10 minutes, paving the way for the four to officially begin their duties as councillors.

Councillor Abdurrahman Sapa

Share This:

Sponsored Links

Demo Title

Demo Description

We value your opinion! Take a moment to complete our survey

This will close in 20 seconds